This is What I’m Trying to do…in My Own Way…


I love how Clean Teen Publishing breaks it down to help parents and teachers find appropriate YA. They take all things that could possibly be too mature, and they rate them on a visual scale. Their sister company, Crimson, does not this.

Maybe I should come up with graphics for my rating system? (Though I review and blog for me, my goal is to help people find the right book for the right reader. It all started when a Barnes & Noble employee recommended Alice in Zombieland as a gift for my 12 year old niece. At the birthday, next to Miss Peregrine’s House for Peculiar Children, sat that book…and I took it away. I showed my aunt (the one giving the gift) the inappropriate love scenes…she was upset. 

I want to prevent that. I still review books that I want to read, but I mention the age range and content that might be questionable. It’s my opinion… 

3 thoughts on “This is What I’m Trying to do…in My Own Way…

  1. I think this is a great thing to try and do with your blog. It didn’t really apply to me when I was younger but there are definitely a few books that are shelved in the YA section that I would classify as solely young adult because they’re more for older teens. I don’t think a parent would realise what content was inside just looking at the cover or anything. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah…that’s what worries me. As an adult, I’m good…but I don’t think she’s ready to read “Speak” by Laurie Hals Anderson…she ordered that through Scholastic at school. Don’t get me wrong: I’m sure it’s a good book. But she was 10 when she ordered it. (I’m just overly conservative when it comes to issues like rape and sex and drugs…maybe when she’s 13.)
      The only thing around for me when I was her age was those Lurleen McDaniel books (“Too Young To Die), and I read those like crazy. But the topics were tamer. Then again, I like to think that if she is going through something at some point, there’s a book she can read that she can identify with.
      That’s the amazing part of YA: it’s such a broad and rich genre.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, some of the books I read today that are marketed as young adult I wouldn’t have read when I was younger, and I was reading YA books back then.
        I feel it would be helpful if there were clearer guides in stores so parents buying books for their young children know what to expect, and even so children know what to expect as well. YA is definitely a broad genre to say the least! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

