Coming From Stephenie Meyer…

Here it is, folks….the much-anticipated new release from Meyer:


Here’s the description…

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life. 

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning. 

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon. 

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous. 

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of. 

In this tautly plotted novel, Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialized skill set. And she shows once again why she’s one of the world’s bestselling authors.

The release date is November 15, 2016…for $14.99 for Kindle (wha?) and 28.00 for print. Hot damn! That’s pricey!

What do you think of Meyer’s new adult book (that’s not sci-fi/fantasy)?

13 thoughts on “Coming From Stephenie Meyer…

  1. Wow that is pricey for a Kindle book. I used to love Stephenie Meyer when I was younger but I think I’ve become disenchanted with her books. I really enjoyed The Host when I first read it but she just hasn’t released another book in that series yet! I’m still waiting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah…I think the price is ridiculous! And she started a new thread on Goodreads to promote the book, and I mentioned how it’s a shame she has strayed from where her fans are…people were like, authors have no obligation to their fans blah blah blah. I just think she may have gotten a little too “big for her britches” if you know how the saying goes.
      If she would just finish The Host, I think her fans would be happy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was the same with the tenth anniversary edition of Twilight, the Kindle edition was just so expensive, like the price of a hardcover book!
        Exactly, and maybe The Host wasn’t as popular as Twilight was but it still had a loyal fan following. She seems to have forgotten about all the people who are undoubtably still waiting for a second book!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know, right? I’m disappointed…but thank god there’s other authors out there that are awesome. I don’t know if her audience (fan base) really wants to read an adult thriller. I’m only going to do it because I want to know if she’s actually a good writer, or her topics were just good choices at the moment.
        I mean, you have to be a pretty good writer to keep changing genres and have a devoted fan base. I can’t think of anyone who does, and when they do they usually use another name, or pen name, to claim authorship.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh yeah, there are authors out there who write the books their fans want to read, and who finish series as well!
        It could work, J.K. Rowling released The Casual Vacancy and I think that did pretty well. There’s always going to be an audience for those books even if it’s not Stephenie Meyer’s usual audience you know. I’d be interested to see if a new genre does work with her writing style but I don’t think I’m curious enough to pick this book up for myself!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I’m definitely not going to buy it…but if the library eventually gets a copy, and it is laying around, and I have nothing else better to read (which would be NEVER), then I might pick it up. It’s like a movie you wouldn’t go see in theaters but might catch on cable. If it’s recorded. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. I work for the US government, and I have a hard time believing the author of Twilight can write a book like this that’s believable. That is out of control expensive for a Kindle book. Damn! Even authors who are good writers like James Patterson and John Grisham don’t charge that much for Kindle. Though I will say their books aren’t far off, but still, they can pull off this genre seamlessly, which would make it worth the money. I’d probably read it if I got an ARC or I checked it out at the library just to see if her writing has improved.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So you agree that the price is insane? I saw it and was like, wha??? Really?? It’s pathetic.
      But it’s that morbid curiosity, you know? Where you want to read it because you know there’s no way a person that wrote about sparkly vampires and “Invasion of the Body Snatcher” aliens can write a political espionage thriller. Right?
      I’m so glad people hear agree with me on this. I had such hope for a return to YA. But she’s made movies now, and I guess she’s probably too cool for it now.
      Sorry, I’m venting. I was just shocked when I saw that’s the kind of book that she’s writing. I don’t have a good feeling about it for her.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it’s out of control. She’s not a Stephen King level writer that can demand that kind of price. Only writers with incredible prose and story telling should be allowed to charge that kind of price. I’m curious to see if her writing has improved over the years because it was very juvenile and repetitive in Twilight. She’s one of those authors like EL James that cashed out on one series and doesn’t need to work ever again cause they’re so rich. I bet she wrote this one because The Host didn’t do that great and she wants to prove she’s a legit author and not a one hit wonder. I would vent, too. I can’t believe she wrote this book. As someone who works for the government, I can’t see her getting this right unless the FBI or CIA let her follow them around, which we both know did not happen. I think she was a secretary before she sold Twilight, so it’s not like anything in her background would lend itself to this subject matter. I will read it just so I can see for myself.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, snap! I love you right now!! You just made my night because you get it. That’s exactly what I’ve been thinking but didn’t want to be attacked for saying it! Thanks for putting it into the best words said.
        And you’re right: she wants to prove she’s legit. The Host book didn’t do too bad, but the movie didn’t make a dent (I didn’t even know it was released). So she’s trying to seem like a “real” writer. But I see the comparison between her and James. Which makes sense because I’ve been told 50 Shades was fanfiction of Twilight.
        So they must be pretty alike! Lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ha! I love you back! ❀️ I never hold back in my rants, and if I were ever to rant about Twilight, it would be as bad as my 50 Shades of Grey roast. I would just say whatever you’re thinking cause chances are others feel the same way. That’s what I love about the book community. Even when they disagree everyone is cool about it. Yes, 50 Shades was fanfic and you can totally see the comparisons to Edward and Bella. It’s such a revolting series. I tore it to pieces when I wrote my rant. I even shamed the publisher for publishing it. πŸ˜‚ I also ranted about Divergent and everyone’s beloved John Green books. But I have to say those rants went over much better than I’d expected. People are still sharing them months later. People love reading the negative opinions. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  4. You know, I’ve never read a single John Green book. I’m not much for YA contemporary. But everyone at my college is obsessed with them. Like he’s the world’s best writer and no one can compare! It’s kind of eerie if you ask me…
    Haven’t you HATED reading a book description, and it says, “If you loved The Hunger Games, Divergent, or The Maze Runner, then this book is for you…”? I HATE that. Do we have to compare successful books to promote yours? Do you have to hang on the tailcoats of every successful YA book? “For fans of John Green…” Argh, I say! Argh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

