The Cover Look-A-Like Post II…

Remember the last time I found two books that shared the same cover??

It. Happened. Again.

This always happens by accident, and then I just can’t believe it: there’s always one more “popular” book with the image, and then an obscure book. 

Here’s what I have for you today!!

Here’s the obscure book:

And…here’s the more “popular” book by Morgan Rice…


What does this tell us? Make sure your cover art is original…or you’re gonna end up in one of my “Book Doubles” posts!! Mwhoohaha!!

What do you think? Have you seen either of these books before? Are you having Deja vu? Had to share!!

8 thoughts on “The Cover Look-A-Like Post II…

  1. I feel like when two covers are similar like this it’s because they’ve used stock photos or something, and actually I wonder if there are more than two books out there with this same model.
    I remember seeing two covers with pretty much the same design but now I can’t remember what it was and its really bugging me! If I think of it I will let you know, maybe you can use it for one of your cover look alike posts! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, let me know. I don’t know why it fascinates me so, but it does. It’s like breaking the “suspension of disbelief” and reminding me it’s only a book.
      Kind of like looking behind the curtain, you know? It spoils it for me.
      A book should be original, and these stock photo sites make it easy for people to make covers, but would you want to see another person’s book sharing your cover? It’s like they stole your face!
      I know…I’m weird. It’s a weird obsession with me. Like seeing double. (Get it? Lol. Ok, no. I know, I’m crazy.)
      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, I never thought about it that way but yeah you’re right, it does kind of pull you out a little to see two books with the same model on the front cover.
        I get what you mean about how books should be original but on the other hand it’s great that there are options and photos that are easily accessable for people, maybe authors who are self-publishing, to create covers for their books. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Yeah, it’s good that ppl can get images when they self-publish. But maybe the people with the images should put a notice of how many times that particular image was purchased? Idk. I guess there’s no easy answer…and I can’t explain why I’m fascinated by it, either!! Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That would probably be helpful, then I guess you can judge whether you want to use that particular picture based on how many other people have used/puchased it.
        I mean, when it comes down to it if the book sounds interesting people are going to buy it whether it has a unique cover or is very similar to another out there! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s true: I’ve been tempted by the description of Rice’s book, but I read Arena 1 by Rice and it sucked. So, so far I’ve only got one book that has a double out there: Mindspeak, the book from my first cover post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

