Currently Reading for Review…

So awhile ago, I read a book that I just randomly picked up called After The End. Here’s the pic of the first book:


I obviously read this before I ran this blog and met you guys, so if you want to check out my review for this book, just visit my Goodreads page, and I linked it to the review. This was when I thought I would never have friends to follow and read my posts, so I just did reviews for me. (I like it this way much better ๐Ÿ˜˜)

So…after reading that book, I wanted to read the sequel. I kept checking it out, but other books and RaRs got in the way, and I had to keep renewing it and requesting it…finally it was time to read it and send it back to Allendale Township Library (I’ve kept it way too long for it to be fair, and that’s not fair to other people). 

Be that as it may, I’m now reading Until The Beginning, the sequel, by Amy Plum. Here’s the pic of the current book I’m reading:


Unfortunately, since it is a sequel, I don’t know if the blurb will do any good, so I’m going to combine them and make one blurb!!

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she’s trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When Juneau’s clan disappeared, she lost so much more than her friends and family. She soon discovered everything she thought she knew about her life was a lie. Her people’s gifts were actually secret abilities that others wanted, desperately enough to kidnap an entire village.

Juneau and her new companion Miles’s cross-country journey to find her clan has led them to a game preserve in New Mexico. Now Juneau’s people are finally within reach, and she will stop at nothing to save them. But she has a target on her back too, because unbeknownst to her she is the key to unlocking everything. To rescue her people – and herself – Juneau must discover what she, and her abilities, are truly capable of.

I placed it in the recommended categories on my bookshelf when I first found it, but after I’ve read it I’ve realized that the best genre to put this in would be YA Paranormal. It’s not a dystopian, though Juneau is led to believe it is post-WWIII. But everything is like present-day, so it’s not dystopian. It suggests science fiction, but there are no elements that fit that, and the only elements of “fantasy” are Juneau’s abilities, which fit more with a girl with a gift in a contemporary setting: hence, YA Paranormal.

So anyway, that’s what I’m currently reading, and I’m on page 133/321. (This is why it sometimes takes me awhile to comment back or do Tags…I get really into the books I read, and I’m trying to get them read before school starts. I suppose I’ll be more active here and read less when school is in session. But hey, the blog is about books, right? So I guess it’s good I’m an obsessive reader!! (Yep, if I tell myself that enough it will all be okay)

What do you think? Have you read any of Amy Plum’s other books? (I read Die For Me and I have the other books checked out, so those are coming up, too)

Anyway, thanks for reading and I’m going back to MY reading. 

Look for my readathon tag tomorrow, with a graphic created by Aimal (thanks again by the way!!) Yes, I’m going to try to do the Readathon. And since it started Aug 14th, I may include this book in it! So yay!! 

See y’all later: I got a book to read!!

15 thoughts on “Currently Reading for Review…

    1. A little over the top…but I enjoyed it. It’s an interesting premise. I’m just going to warn you that there’s a little insta-love in that one. This one, not so much. She hates Miles and Miles hates her in the beginning. It takes them a long time to care about each other, and that seems realistic. So I definitely like this book over that series so far. I still plan on finishing the other one, and I think it might be next.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I’m just a sucker for love period.
      I can’t read middle grade because there’s no romantic tension. I think that’s my favorite part of most books.
      But I can’t read actual romance novels. They’re too cheesy. I need some plot!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve never read any of Amy Plum’s books before, though I wasn’t aware she had another series out, I thought the Die for Me books were her only releases. Still this series sounds amazing, actually it sounds more like the kind of book I’d love than the Die for Me ones. Plus I really love the covers as well. I’ll definitely be checking out your review for the first book on Goodreads, and your review for the second book when you post it as well! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s funny because I had passed Die for Me several times in the library, even though I was experiencing cover love with it…but I found this book and didn’t realize it was the same author until later. Even though it was right next to her other books. Just never clicked. The description is what got me. I thought Die For Me sounded like another vampire love story based on the description, so I originally shied away from it. But I did enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I experienced some serious cover love for that series as well, but as of this moment haven’t picked it up or even added it to my to-read list yet myself! I do that with authors sometimes, I don’t make the connection between their series if they’ve written more than one.
        And yeah I definitely get what you mean, this book you’re currently reading sound a lot more interesting to me than the Die for Me series! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

