Fracture Me – Tahereh Mafi (Review)

Title: Fracture Me (Shatter Me, #2.5)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: Harper (Division of HarperCollins), 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian, YA Science Fiction
This review can be found on my BlogTeacherofYA’s Tumblr, or my Goodreads page

My Review:


This novel is set between the second book, Unravel Me, and the last book, Ignite Me

It was a short read, so I’m not even going to bother with the age levels or the classroom use. It’s a novella that was even shorter than Warner’s Destroy Me. Probably 60 pages? So I’m just going to post my initial impressions.

I feel this novella does help the reader see from Adam’s perspective…he DOES love Juliette, but we see her from an outside source and can see how broken she really is. We can see Adam’s curiosity with what goes on in her mind, his anger towards Warner’s attention for her, and his anger at her breaking up with him. He’s not just a love blind sheep that’s obsessed with Juliette: in fact, he cares so much about his little brother James that he actually convinces himself not to go look for her once she’s been captured. Warner wouldn’t hurt her, right?

Well, if he loves Juliette and knows that Warner wants her, I would think he would do anything in his power to get her back. At this point, I’m kind of rooting for Warner…at least he would do anything for her. But deep inside we know the bad guy never gets the girl…

I will give this novella ★★★★★ because it is well-written. It’s a good glimpse into Adam’s mind. I would’ve liked to see a little more love from his POV, but I guess it’s more realistic than being infatuated with her. It also could’ve stood to be a little longer. But I’m starting to think Mafi could write the dictionary and make it interesting. To be able to switch from a neurotic girl to a power-hungry villain with a heart to a normal boy that’s a father figure to his little brother is a feat unto itself.

And Mafi makes the transition seamless between stories. The narrators do not sound the same: the characters are all distinctly different from each other. And that in of itself is amazing.

Read it only if you plan to read the Shatter Me series.


27 thoughts on “Fracture Me – Tahereh Mafi (Review)

  1. Glad you enjoyed this! I’ve personally only read Shatter Me and Unravel Me, but I don’t plan on finishing the series. It’s not that I have any issues with the series, it’s just that this year I’ve gone off a lot of the series I started, and this happens to be one of them. I find it interesting seeing other people’s thoughts on the rest of the series though! (and the novellas). Lovely review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great review, and I’m glad you enjoyed this novella as well. I liked the fact that both of the novellas in this series gave us some insight into Adam and Warner which we didn’t get in the main series given that that’s from Juliette’s POV. Unfortunately this novella didn’t really make me like Adam’s character anymore; it was great seeing into his mind a little but by the end I still wasn’t keen on his character. I was definitely rooting for Warner as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am surprised out how the novel is developing…I had a thought of how it would end up, and I have been wrong! I was rooting for Warner, though a part of me loved Adam…but now things have changed so much I don’t know who to root for! Can’t wait to finish and post this review!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes it a good book doesn’t it. When you’re not sure who to root for? Do you have any idea of who Juliette will end up with?
        I can’t wait for you to read Ignite Me and post your review, I’ll be keeping an eye out for it so I can read it as soon as you post it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. A lot about the last book surprised me, and it’s great when an author manages that as well!
        Yeah I’m hoping there’ll be a novella or something with more after the events of Ignite Me! Like there was between the first and second and second and third books.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Well, I mean she left it pretty open-ended: no one for Kenji (though it seems the book alluded to him loving Castle, didn’t it? And he kept saying Juliette wasn’t his “type?”), no fall of the Reestablishment, no one for ::cough cough:: you know who (you know who I’m talking about…recently heartbroken and pissed off? Brother to a love interest? So do not want to give spoilers…
      It’s like she wanted to leave it open so she could revisit it…I mean the ending was so quick, compared to all the planning, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’d love to read more about Kenji. He was my favourite character in the series and one of my favourite YA characters overall! And yeah I’d enjoy seeing another story for ‘you know who’. I like that this series was left open and I’d love to see another book but I don’t mind waiting for it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the novellas added a level of understanding to the series, and they aren’t after the fact ones, which I despise, because there’s no use for them at that point. Mafi actually wrote these between each book, and it really sheds light on Adam’s and Warner’s characters. I had strong feelings about each one afterwards.

      Like

Leave a Reply

