Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi (Review)

Title: Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: Harper (Imprint of HarperCollins), 2014
Genre: YA Dystopian, YA Science Fiction

This review can be found on my BlogTeacherofYA’s Tumblr, or my Goodreads page

My Review:

It’s come to an end…


Wow. This series was powerful. And I’m going to miss reading it.

Ignite Me is the final book in the series.


What a series. Tahereh Mafi is a wordsmith, weaving worlds together as I read each sentence. I held my breath, and I was pleasantly surprised at the turn of events. I can’t give you spoilers, but I will say that I love Warner and I want to have his babies. So sexy. So confident. So broken. So in love with Juliette. And Adam pisses me off. Royally.

So I guess I should summarize, but it’s hard when it is a final book in a series. So I’ll do the best I can. And by that I mean I will  use Goodreads for my summary. 

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

Ok, that doesn’t seem to be enough. Warner and Juliette spend more time together, as Omega Point is destroyed and Juliette is told her friends see dead. In actuality, some people survived the bombing, and they were told Juliette is dead. Warner starts to break down his walls, explaining how some of the things Juliette believes about him are wrong. He visits his ailing mother, who has a similar problem to Juliette: she can’t be touched. But she can’t be touched because touch is agonizing to her. She is medicated and kept locked up by the Supreme Commander, Warner’s father. Warner also lied about his reasons for claiming Juliette from the asylum in the first place: he was hoping he could get her to help his mom. Juliette sees a whole new side of him, especially the scars that crisscross across his back from being whipped by his father. There is one word tattooed on his back: “Ignite.”

When Juliette locates the few survivors of Omega Point, Adam sees the chemistry between Juliette and Warner, and he’s not happy about it. He tells Juliette he was happier believing she was dead. This is one of the most powerful scenes in the book, and one of the most beautifully-written. I can’t make GIFs, but I can take pics of a page:


I’m telling you, Mafi can write. 

Is This Classroom-Appropriate?

No. Not this one. Maybe none of them are. I noticed that there’s some bad words (the s-word mainly), and some pretty intimate moments, so it’s not great for kids. I think the first book would be great for creative writing. I rhink excerpts of Mafi’s writing could be used in college classes as examples and models. But I’m doubting the idea of using it for a high school English class. And it’s sad, because her writing is beautiful. (I just found out it’s been optioned for a film!)

Age Range:

So Lexile.com only profiled Shatter Me and Unravel Me, which makes me wonder if the site recognizes that rhis book was a little more intense than the others, especially in the intimacy department. I blushed a couple times. I’m going to have to use my best judgement here…so I would suggest 15 and up, just for prudence. Of course, maturity level matters and whether the reader already read the other two books…and the other two are suggested at 14-17…so this one is just a simple judgement call. If you think your reader is mature enough to handle some language issues and a little implied horizontal sporting, then by all means, allow them to read it. But not matter what, if they’ve read rhe first two books, you HAVE to let them finish the series. Not to let them would be cruel. Don’t be cruel.

End Result:

Though I felt the ending was a bit rushed and a little too open-ended, I give Ignite Me ★★★★★. Which means I give the entire Shatter Me saga ★★★★★. I do wish that there was more, that it didn’t end so abruptly, but I didn’t write it. But I am happy with the results, and that’s all I could hope for. I will be looking for more of Mafi’s books in the future and I will never underestimate her again by thinking her books would be formulaic. They’re not. I was constantly pleasantly surprised. And I still feel like Mafi is not done with her characters…despite what the Acknowledgment page said. She left just enough open to continue Juliette’s story. Just enough.

Happy reading and happy Labor Day weekend! Next is A Court of Thorns and Roses, and maybe some Tags that I’ve been meaning to do!!

33 thoughts on “Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi (Review)

  1. Excellent review as always. I always love how you ballpark the age range and the classroom appropriateness of the books you read. I think that’s a pretty helpful thing for people who aren’t sure what to give their kids – and teachers who are trying to connect to their students, but have strict guidelines. Very cool! You definitely make me want to read this series (which I’ve been on the fence about). And the covers! They’re all so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!
      I hope that a book like Alice in Zombieland never ends up in my 12 year old niece’s hands again, lol!
      I’m glad I make you want to read this series, because it is visceral. It tugs at my inner feelings-maker-thingie. Punches me in the kidneys. Boxes my esophagus. There’s a lot of pain inside right now. I’m bruised. I think I have internal bleeding after reading this book, lol. 😭😵

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I’m sold… I want to read these books, but don’t worry, I’m not a home wrecker and you can still keep Warner and have his babies… 😀😂
    The quotes are good and I agree with you- well written… I’m definitely intrigued. Great reviews for the series Teach!!!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      And I guess I can rent him out…it’s selfish not to share. You can have him Tues after 6pm. Return him in the same condition. Once the plastic wrap is punctured, he’s non-returnable. Oh, and no refunds.
      😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay I’m so happy you loved it! Isn’t Warner perfect?! I was quite surprised by how graphic some of the scenes were too, not complaining though haha.

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of A Court of Thorns and Roses, that’s one of my favourites too!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, I’ll stop. Lol
        It WILL be my fault if that happens, and I’ll feel totally bad. (Picturing a superhot Warner…picturing a superhot Warner)
        ::crosses fingers::
        C’mon, superhot Warner! No whammies!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a brilliant review! And I am so so glad you loved this book as well. Ignite Me was my favourite of the whole series and I feel like most of that was due to Warner, who I loved in this book. I was not a fan of Adam at all, some of the things he did werfe just kind of cruel and it really knocked his character down in my estimation.
    I do see what you mean about the ending, at the time I didn’t notice it so much but looking back I do see what you mean about it feeling a little rushed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Adam only seemed to love Juliette when she was scared and broken. And he said some horrible things. I really thought they were “meant” to be together because of his tattoo and his ability,
      But a white bird with gold streaks like a crown atop his head…Warner.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, not a good relationship at all. It’s like he wanted her to stay broken and reliant on him and that isn’t really healthy is it?
        I did not like him at all in the third book, mainly because of his actions and what he said!
        Yep, the bird, Warner, I loved that reveal (if you could call it that! ) 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Well…I never would have put it together…that’s another thing that was left pretty unresolved. You know? Adam’s tattoo and Warner’s appearance? I mean, what a strange comparison. You’d think there’d be more to that story.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I read this trilogy so long ago and yet the character of Warner is so fresh in my mind. How I hated him at first and then it just creeped up on me and somehow he became my fav character. Tahereh Mafi is such a brilliant writer. I’ve got so many fav quotes from these books. She makes even the simplest of sentences beautiful. And I’ve been waiting for her to write another book after reading this!

    Like

    1. I know, I can’t wait because I see she’s working on something already. I loved Warner after Destroy Me. Before that I thought he was the bad guy that didn’t know what love was…how the tables turn in her books. I’d read anything by Mafi…I would read Furthermore but have had bad luck with middle grade books. They aren’t spicy enough for my liking (gotta have some romance…not a ton, but some!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

