Above The Sky – Jenny Lynne (Review and Sale!)

So I have this author friend…

She emailed me back awhile ago (has it been a year? It’s been awhile, I know that…) and asked me if I would be interested in reviewing her novel, Above The Sky. This was pre-blog of course, but I was big into Goodreads. She compared it to The Hunger Games, and of course I couldn’t resist, despite the fact that now every book says that. I read her book and I fell in love. She updated the cover and produced a sequel, which I read as well, and I will be beta reading the next installment. 

Why am I mentioning this, you ask? Well, my friend Jenny is having a Countdown sale on the first book now that the third is almost ready to roll. We’ve kept in touch because I believe in her book and hope to see it on the big screen someday. Anyway, here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

If you enjoyed DIVERGENT, THE HUNGER GAMES, THE MAZE RUNNER, or THE GIVER …

HER FIRST EIGHTEEN YEARS WERE FILLED WITH LIES.

SHE IS ABOUT TO DISCOVER THE TRUTH.

Eighteen-year-old Seven and her best friend, Ten, live where all is peaceful … except for the violent war raging above the sky. Lifelike humanoid robots and self-operated drones tend to everyone’s needs, leaving people free to spend their time stimulating their minds and enjoying life’s pleasures. But there are strict rules and few choices.

Every year, on Assignment Day, the path of each eighteen-year-old’s life is laid out. Some are given the jobs for which they have shown exceptional aptitude and are “paired” for mating. The others are sent off to fight in The War and never return.

When Assignment Day comes for Seven, the assignments shatter everything she’s ever believed. The rules force everyone to accept their fates, but Seven decides to do something unprecedented: to go against the Decision Makers’ wishes.

ABOVE THE SKY is a young adult / new adult futuristic science fiction story of a teen girl coming of age in a dystopian society founded on lies. Filled with constant suspense, surprising twists, forbidden romance, imaginative adventure, and thought-provoking philosophy, ABOVE THE SKY is perfect for readers who enjoyed THE HUNGER GAMES (by Suzanne Collins), DIVERGENT (by Veronica Roth), THE MAZE RUNNER (by James Dashner), ENDER’S GAME (by Orson Scott Card), and THE GIVER (by Lois Lowry).
THE SKY series:

Book 1: ABOVE THE SKY

Book 2: RETURN TO THE SKY

Read ABOVE THE SKY and RETURN TO THE SKY for FREE with Amazon Prime or Kindle Unlimited.


And here’s the cover:


So I decided to include my review for the first book, along with a link to the sale…and I also asked Jenny some interview questions so you can get to know her better! (This review can also be found on my Goodreads page)

Here’s the review (the format is different since this was pre-blog days…)

(I did receive this book as an ARC for an honest review…and I honestly loved it!)

O.M.G.

This book was AWESOME!

It took me a long time because of the file format, and because of school. But man, this was like “The Giver” by Lois Lowry…an epic read.

Seven and Ten live in a society where jobs are assigned, and those chosen as Warriors are forced to go off to The War, a never-ending battle where people go to fight and never come back. Seven finds out her twin, Six, has been picked to go, along with her childhood love, Ten. Seven then makes a decision that changes all of their lives.

I won’t write spoilers, but I will say that Lynne creates a story world that is rich in imagery and transports you to this dystopian future. Like “The Giver,” choices are made “in the best interest” of the community. Touching is not allowed. A spouse is assigned. Mating is taught after pairings. Creepy, but totally believable. A world I can picture, and a book that leaves you wanting more.

Lynne does end the book leaving room for more…could there be a sequel to “Above The Sky?” I think so…Lowry’s story became a quartet (though it took her ten long and AGONIZING years for her to release it), and I think Lynne writes a bestseller. But she definitely left me, the reader, wanting more. I didn’t want to finish the book for fear of ending the story, and I’ve only felt that way about a handful of books: mainly those that had no sequels and had so much richness in the story world. “The Host,” by our famous Stephenie Meyer, is a prime example of a book that I read to the very last chapters and deliberately put down because I knew there was no sequel to comfort me when the story ended.

If you can, read this book. If you are a fan of YA dystopian fiction, and love books like “The Hunger Games,” “Divergent,” and “The Maze Runner,” this book is right up your alley.

I implore you, Jenny Lynne, please follow this up! I would definitely be first in line to read it. 

Thank you for sharing a fresh take on a popular genre, and for giving me a chance to read it. Five stars!

Ok. Don’t mock me. I was a very green reviewer back then. But the enthusiasm is the same. The book is great. Lynne did something many people can’t do: she took a popular trope and made it HER OWN. She even came up with a graphic that featured my review…I am so proud of it:


So the book will be $.99 for another 2 days, 8 hours, 2 min, and 42, 41, 40…seconds. 

Here is the link: Above The Sky – Countdown Sale!*

*The sale is no longer active. It will be regular price now. It was a countdown sale, but please still check out Jenny’s book!

And let me introduce my soon-to-be-famous author friend, JENNY LYNNE!!! ::cheers::

So I asked Jenny some questions, and here are the answers…

Me: When did you know that you wanted to write?

Jenny: Creative writing has always been one of my passions. In my high school English classes, instead of essays, I wrote stories to address the assigned questions. Fortunately, I had awesome teachers who encouraged my creativity. 

I’d dreamed of writing a whole book since childhood, but the idea of actually doing it was extremely daunting. Then one day, I was discussing my book-writing dream with a friend of mine. “Of course you can write a book,” he told me. “Send me each chapter as you write it and I’ll read it for you.” I don’t know what gave him the idea that I could write a book. I think the biggest thing I’d written for him up until that point was an email, but a few months later, thanks to Peter’s encouragement, I had written my first book.

Me: Did anything in particular inspire you to write Above The Sky?
Jenny: I’d read a bunch of intriguing dystopian books, and I felt like I had a unique story to tell. Once I started writing, the characters came alive for me. I just had to write about them.

Me: What was the worst job you’ve ever had before you became an awesomely famous author? πŸ˜‰

Jenny: One summer when I was a teenager, I was a material handler. That was the company’s fancy term for a person who collects trash. I had been working in the mailroom, opening letters. Then one day, I found out that the people who collected our trash and took it down to the dumpster got paid more money than the people who open letters. I asked my boss about the job and he said that only guys were material handlers, and he asked, “Why would you want to deal with trash anyway?” I answered honestly, “Because it pays more money.” He said I could give it a try. At the end of the summer, he told me that I was one of the most conscientious material handlers he’d ever met, and he was glad he’d given me a chance!

Me: What’s your favorite genre to read? Do you have an all-time favorite book? 

Jenny: I love reading YA books.* Some of my favorites (in no particular order) are: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (by J.K. Rowling), Divergent (by Veronica Roth), The Hunger Games (by Suzanne Collins), and The Fault in Our Stars (by John Green).

*I knew I loved her for a reaosn! 

Me: I know that you’re writing a third book for the series…(I am a big fan obviously)…so I want to know: is this the end of Ten and Seven? Is this the final book, or are there more coming out? And are you working on anything else? 

Jenny: The third book in the Sky series answers a lot of big questions, and it could certainly be the end of a trilogy. That being said, I love Seven and Ten, and I hope to write more about their adventures.

Me: Are you friends with other indie authors? What is the hardest part of being a self-published author? 

Jenny:Yes, I’m friends with other authors. People who love books are cool!

The hardest part of being a self-published author is that most people have no idea that my novels exist. Thanks to you, Stephanie, there are now tons more people who know about my books! And for that I am so grateful!

Guys, I implore you: check out Jenny’s book. She made me love RaRs. She was my first author request. She was the first person to listened to my feedback  as a reader! If I can do anything to get this book into more hands, I will.

If you guys have any questions or comments, please leave them below! I’m sure Jenny would be happy to answer more about her book or anything else! I hope you love the characters as much as I do. (And NO love triangles or Mary Sues, I promise! No speshul snowflake characters that will drive you crazy! You have my word.)

The link again: Above The Sky – Countdown Sale ($.99)!*

*The sale is no longer active. It will be regular price now. It was a countdown sale, but please still check out Jenny’s book!

Happy Reading!

19 thoughts on “Above The Sky – Jenny Lynne (Review and Sale!)

    1. Honestly, I think a lot of authors self-publish now. It’s a way to get your book out there faster.
      I never asked if she shopped her manuscript around. She should though…I’ve seen what garbage some publishers release, and Jenny would blow them away! And small publishers take all your money and own your book.
      So good question…I’ll have to ask Jenny.
      And I love knowing authors. They are (mostly) very nice and don’t care about profits…they just their books read. Like Sarah Noffke and Christina Rozelle. And Michelle Brian. I know their books would be as popular, if not MORE popular than The Hunger Games. But their budget is limited, so they can’t make fancy covers or pay for high publishing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Self published ends up selling their books for only 99 cents can’t be all that good. It’s definitely hard work writing a whole book! Also, I thought publisher pays authors to publish the book. That’s another whole new world for me and I guess I don’t need to know 😊 but publisher do need authors as authors need publisher

        Liked by 1 person

    2. A lot of publishers promise to promote the author’s book and then the book gets ignored while they work on new authors. The book Surfacing by Mark Magro? He went through a small publisher and lost the rights to his book. So he has to start all over. I totally think if she shopped it, it would be picked up, but a lot of publishers will not publish an already self-published book either! They want the royalties all to themselves.
      I think the big publishers are reputable. It’s the small ones that concern me…

      Liked by 1 person

    3. And she really doesn’t care about the money…she just wants her books read. I like authors like that. I’m a big supporter of indie authors…I’ve been meaning to post all the cool freebies I won from an event and I keep betting busy, but I won all sorts of swag from indie authors promoting their own books! Sarah Noffke is my example of a self-published author who is doing pretty well!
      But yes…publishers and authors should be supporting each other.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It says $4.30 on my Amazon.com, but fuck it, I bought it anyways because of your enthusiasm about it (and no speshul snowflakes sounds very promising ;)! It will take me a while to get to it, though, but it’s there!! *moondances off the stage*

    *runs back to the stage*I implore you, Jenny Lynne, please follow this up! I would definitely be first in line to read it. Now that is so cute. And she actually listened!! πŸ˜‰

    A material handler *chuckles*, my cousin is one as well and he said it pays so much more than actually doing a job in the field he graduated in. Trash will always need to be picked up; if you’ve played the Sims, you know this is a dealbreaker for your character’s well-being!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trash is always going to be there, though! Lol.
      I LOVE that you supported Jenny. Yes, I was so thrilled she listened to me! And I feel like these next two books were based on my enthusiasm, though I know that’s REALLY egotistical of me! πŸ˜‰
      Let me know when you read it! I’d love to know your thoughts.
      ::snatches brownie and runs away::

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aye, I’m just happy I don’t have to clean up my own dumps and whatnot. Any time! ❀ Hahaha, oh no, I'd think the exact same way. And maybe they are? *peers at Jenny*
        I hope it'll be before this Christmas, at least! πŸ˜€ I've flooded myself with books. But only good ones! πŸ˜‰ (I hope) Gasps! For shame! Now I'll have to eat yet another can of beans today!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      You’re killing me, smalls!
      You slay me all the time.
      If it’s before 2017 that’s wonderful! I know the feeling…I have so many books…and I have a set of them to read from an author that sent me books as physical copies back when I was able to read and work at the same time…so I really want to get those read! I have so much on my plate…and I keep asking for seconds instead of finishing.
      I’m going to have indigestion soon…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. *blows kiss* I definitely hope so! I’m so behind on pretty much everything except my toe nails. Ooo, the books that come straight from the authors themselves are the hardest/most guilt-tripping for sure. I have 3 of those right now (that I know of, at least :x). It’s silly why we do this to ourselves isn’t it? *Sighs*, I’m surrounded by a cloud of my own stale farts. For realz. Hope your bowels are doing better…;)

        Liked by 1 person

    3. Thanks…my bowels are doing great. πŸ™„
      I’m actually behind on my toenails…thanks for reminding me!
      I know…we are gluttons for punishment! (Does that make us masochists?)

      A cloud of your own stale farts? Why are you surrounded by farts, might I ask? That might not be very healthy for you…but at least you trim your toenails, and I haven’t and look like Bigfoot…so who am I to judge? 😏

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s very good to hear :’). You’re totally welcome! Interesting one, *strokes chin* I dunno, we might’ve been monks in a previous life. I’m still worried that I’ll get a bald spot on the back of my head every day. Because I had to eat beans because you stole my brownie *pouts*. I don’t know what’s worse, toenails or farts? At least you can’t really touch a fart? And toenails can smell nasty!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like a great book, and your enthusiasm is definitely catching. Normally I try to be a little wary of books that are described as ‘perfect for fans of…’ but if you say this one is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner series then I definitely trust your opinion on this! πŸ˜€
    I really enjoyed reading your review as well. Sometimes it’s nice seeing how your writing style changes the more reviews you write, just looking back at the first review I posted on my blog I can see changes in my writing style. I’m sure you feel the same way about your reviews at times! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I definitely do…back then I used those two books as my gauge for all dystopia. Now I wouldn’t say it again!
      But the line made her happy, apparently, so I haven’t ever done an updated review that might sound more sophisticated. She’s put them on all her advertisements, so I am proud that I was able to help promote her book…but I think her book is in a different class all together.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t think O have books I use as a gauge for all others I pick up, then again I have my favourite so maybe they are what I’d use.
        Well it’s great that she’s used part of your review, and no need to do an updated one if the author is so happy with the one you’ve already done! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

