Oppression: Children of the Gods – Jessica Therrien (Review)

Title: Oppression (Children of the Gods, #1)
Author: Jessica Therrien
Publisher: Acorn Publishing, 2015
Genre: YA Fantasy, YA Mythology, YA Paranormal

**I received a copy of this book free from ebooksforreview.com and the author in exchange for an honest review**

This review can be found on my BlogTeacherofYA’s Tumblr, or my Goodreads page

I am not part of the Blog Tour, but I liked the graphic and did want to help promote the book as much as I can. It’s what us bloggers do! So I am in no part associated with it,  but I wanted everyone to know that the book will be having a blog tour soon. Check it out!

My Review:


This one’s a tough one for me…I liked certain aspects and didn’t like others. But I’ll start with a summary…

Elyse has had a hard eighty years…though she only appears eighteen. Elyse has a rare disorder that she shares with her parents: for every five years, she only physically ages one. At a young age, her parents died in a car crash, and Elyse was left with Betsy, a woman who has recently passed away. She moves to SAN Francisco to protect her secret, though a man at the restaurant under her apartment begins acting strangely…though he’s quite cute.
The next thing Elyse knows, she is pulled into a war with Descendants, people who have bloodlines related to those who people used to consider Greek Gods…Elyse is not the only one who ages slowly, and she happens to have an ability just like them: she can heal people. With William, the hunk downstairs, she is brought into a world different from her own, and told she is part of an important prophecy, one that kept her parents in hiding until their untimely death.

Now all are turning toward her Elyse in hope that she will fulfill the prophecy and save the Decendants from a corrupt council…but Elyse never signed on to any of this. Is Elyse ready to take her place among her kind to start a war, despite the fact that she barely knows these people? And does William really care about her as much as he claims? What’s a girl to do? (Kinda sarcastic here…didn’t really know how to end the blurb! 😉)

Is It Classroom-Appropriate?

Though this title is not as well-known, I could see some interesting things done with the whole Greek mythology connection. However, I really can’t see a lot of use for this particular book in the classroom, as it isn’t really historically accurate and doesn’t focus enough on the Greek Gods to have much use. It’s cute in its use of mythology, and I could see a creative college professor using it in a mythology class…but I say leave it for outside reading. There’s just not enough there for academic purposes. That does not mean the book shouldn’t be read: it’s just not classroom reading.

Age Range:

This book is not going to be found on Lexile.com…independent, or “indie” books never are. Which pisses me off. But be that as it may, I would say this book could be an ok read for ages 13 and up. There’s no swearing and there’s no sex…so it’s not inappropriate by any means. Actually, Elyse is quite inexperienced and sheltered. So the book has that going for it. However, it is book one of three (I have the other two that I plan on reading later), so I don’t know if the series gets racy later. I can only assess book one, and in this book I would say it is ok for younger readers to read. I really don’t know if it would keep their interest, since the themes are more mature (death, power straddles, violence), but there’s nothing offensive here to keep it from younger readers’ hands.

End Result:

This is where it gets tricky, believe you me. The book was ok. I didn’t like the insta-love between William and Elyse: they meet and they are practically soulmates. She goes off with him the first time she meets him even though she’s been conditioned to be wary of strangers. She doesn’t freak out when he sneaks into her apartment. The guy exhibits some major stalking behaviors, and Elyse is all goo-goo eyed for him. Did not like that. Seriously, let’s have some time to pass before they get all lovey-dovey, you know?

Then there’s the pace of the book: ⎌we are introduced to Elyse one minute, and the next minute she’s being stalked by two people. This is why I can safely say I didn’t really give any spoilers for this book: everything I included happened in, like, the first five chapters of the book! I didn’t get a chance to really get to know Elyse, our main character, and without getting to know her, I can’t really develop an attachment to her. Those were the cons.

The pros? Therrien is actually a good writer! I found some quotes I actually liked, and I rarely find those that I highlight and want to include in my review. Here’s some examples of her prose:

I was grateful in that moment that his eyes, which carried all the beauty of the earth and infinite sky, could not bear witness to the crumbled wreckage of my love-sick heart.


The moon still glowed full and silver in the gray early morning light like a shimmering coin at the bottom of a pool.


The cherry-red blood glistened with vivid pigment against my skin, painting bright crimson patterns on the surface of my hand. It dripped from my fingertips onto the dull colored carpet, each drop a hidden ruby in the sand.

Beautiful prose! So there’s that. And the book did keep my interest. So for that, I was torn between three and four stars. Technically, I would give it three and a half, but since there are no half-stars in the rating world, I’m going to go with my gut here and give it ★★★☆☆. If you haven’t seen my rating system at the bottom of my page, then I’ll include what three stars mean:

★★★☆☆ : Readable book. Might forget it at some point, but I was able to read to the end, and it kept my interest.


I feel that’s an accurate assessment of the book. I will continue with the series, because as most people know by now, I’m not one to quit a series. But I have other books to read, so I’m going to focus on those, and probably return to this series at a later date. Here are the other two in the rest of the Children of the Gods series:



Will you be checking out Oppression? Are you a fan of Mythology books? (I am obviously!) Are you upset I didn’t review a spooky book for Halloween? (Sorry…not much into the “spooky” books, but I’ll be posting a book haul library post, and I have some semi-spooky titles in there that you’ll see)

Happy Reading…and Happy Halloween (tomorrow)!!

21 thoughts on “Oppression: Children of the Gods – Jessica Therrien (Review)

    1. I’ve been on a good streak so far…I was bound to read something more mediocre. Thanks, I’m sure the next book I read will be good…I’m working on Theta because it’s been on NetGalley for awhile and I like the mythology in that one!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Science fiction, of course! And YA. I have a short story that I want to lengthen, and I promised myself last year that I would give it a try. I doubt I’ll become a bestselling author, but it would be nice, lol!
        I just need to sit down and write…I’ve made too many excuses, and even if I don’t “win,” it’d be nice to see myself make some progress toward my goal of writing a book. I don’t know how it’s going to start today or even how the month will go: but I do want to give it a try! You should too if you have book ideas…no need to feel pressure bc it’s supposed to help you. And it’s not like there’s any negative consequences for it…whatever you or I create is better than nothing, right? 😉

        Like

      1. Oh! Good luck! 🙂 I tried nanowrimo one year as well but I just couldnt keep it up.. I have so many book ideas floating around but never manage to actually sit down and so something with them… but I hope you’ll knock it out of the park and become a bestselling author! 🙂 What genre are you writing in?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The cons you listed are outweighing the pros, so I won’t be checking this out. I can already feel that I will be writing a rant review for this one, so there is no point. Maybe the next books won’t have the same cons like the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m not planning on reading the next one right away. I do hope the next one is better…though the cons shouldn’t be there bc they all have to do with first book problems.
      Hope the next one is better! Crossing my fingers!

      Like

  2. This is a great review Stephanie. I am a massive fan of Greek mythology but at the same time I am not a fan of insta-love, and I think some of the cons you picked out would bother me a little in the book/series as well.
    Still it seems like a decent book, maybe one day I’ll pick it up, who knows! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would recommend the Omega series that I’m reading now if you’re a Greek geek like me: it’s by Lizzy Ford and I’m reading the second book from NetGalley now called Theta. It is definitely different than most tropish books out there!
      Skip this one: I read it for a RaR and had to have it done by Nov 1.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Yup, that’s mainly the only reason I read it, lol!!
      I had forgotten requesting it: I mark on the calendar what has due dates, and there’s only one book so far that I missed the deadline…I might DNF it because I just don’t have time to read all these independent books I signed up for way back when. I think this was the last of them, really.
      I want to focus on my library and NetGalley titles!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah it can get ahead of you sometimes cant it, the requesting of ARCs and all the books that build back in between them. Keeping a calendar is a good idea for ARCs actually. I’ve written them down in a notebook but I may start adding them to a calendar or something just so I can see the dates of them all. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    3. You know, I’ve always wanted to get more organized…like keep a notebook of all the books due and all the books read: bentbookworm has this really cool template and journal where she writes notes and quotes from all her books, and includes start and end dates…how cool would THAT be??
      I wish I could pause time and have one day to get super-organized. I am going to just have to hang in there until school is out. I have to remind myself I won’t always be this busy, lol. 🤔

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That sounds amazing! I do have a notebook but it’s more something I just scribble things in like when I’ll be writing and posting reviews, what tags I have left to do, TTT themes and things like that. I’d love to have a proper blogging notebook.
        I have to do that with work. I’m feeling Christmas will be an OK-ish time to get sorted given all the bank holidays, until then I may just have to deal with being a bit of a mess! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    4. Yeah, I’m going to wait until after I get out this semester and create one like someone I saw had. Very thorough so that I can use it in the classroom and record my impressions. I wish I could remember who it was because theirs was insanely beautiful. But awesome that you keep tabs at all. I just post blindly…😳

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m going to try and create something rather than just using an old notebook, but it would be great if you had one that worked for the classroom as well.
        Yeah I find that works better for me, it’s not for everyone but I just like to be organized you know? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kudos for promoting the blog your without being a part of it!! 😀

    Even though it wasn’t the MOST amazing book for you, I’m super thrilled about the concept you’re describing. If this were a true fact, I can finally stop sucking the souls out of not so innocent children O_o. I must read this, maybe it includes some useful tips!

    The instalove is a downer, though. The being soulmates at the blink of an eye is just *gags*. If I hear such stories on someone’s wedding speech, I’m always secretly thinking “ah, they’re going to be divorced again within the next 5 years or less!”. Way to kill the mood huh? I’m good at that. But ehm, yes, excellent review m’dear!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

