Theta (Omega #2) – Lizzie Ford (Review)

Title: Theta (Omega #2)
Author: Lizzy Ford
Publisher: Captured Press, 2016 (August 29)
Genre: YA Dystopian, YA Fantasy, YA Mythology

**I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. At the time of this review, the book is now available**

This review can be found on my BlogTeacherofYA’s Tumblr, or my Goodreads page

My Review:

I hate waiting this long in-between reading my books and writing my reviews, because the freshness of the book leaves my mind.

Let me warn all of you that this is a sequel, so there will be mention of the first book in this review. I don’t know if many of you have read Lizzy Ford’s books, but she is a talented writer. I loved Omega and was bugging her about the release of the next one on Goodreads (well, not more than once, but I wanted to know when it was coming out!) I read the first one way back in March, before I started my blog. The last one, Alpha, won’t be out until 2017, and I’ll probably go crazy while waiting.


In Omega, we meet Alessandra, a girl raised by Herakles in the forest. She’s abducted and taken to Adonis, where she discovers she is the Oracle of Delphi. See, in this world, Greek gods are real and they have been responsible for the deaths of a large part of the human race. The humans want to return the world to the way it used to be: Greek gods where they belong and humans on Earth. But the bridge between worlds was closed by the last Oracle, supposedly to protect the human race. At least that’s what Cecelia, the old Oracle, claims. Alessandra realizes that Adonis is also Mismatch, a grotesque (gargoyle) who flies the skies at night. She remembers her childhood and Mismatch being a large part of it, and she and Adonis start to fall for each other. But Cleon snatches her and finds a way to make Alessandra’s powers become part of him. As an Oracle, she has the power to create and destroy, and she becomes Cleon’s tool. 

This is Omega:


Way good and way intense. My kind of story. Mythology, magic, and mayhem all set in a dystopian world. Awesome-sauce.

In Theta, Alessandra’s powers still have been hijacked by Cleon, the Supreme Magistrate. He becomes more powerful by the day. Meanwhile, the Silent Queen, a woman who believes strongly in the death of all gods, is working on eliminating Cleon and getting the gods to leave Earth. (You really got to read the first book, people. I’m not doing it any justice) Adonis searches for himself and finds Menalaus, an old man who remembers Adonis’s ancestors and is part of his cursed bloodline. He too becomes a grotesque at night. They form a bond and Adonis becomes less of a monster. Alessandra pines for him, being cut off from the rest of the world by Cleon, but she fears she will be the death of him. One of the benefits to being an Oracle: prophecies of Adonis’s death haunt her. 

She doesn’t know who to trust, but it’s definitely not Cleon…or is it? Can the one man who hijacked her mind and her powers actually be trying to save the human race? Will Adonis be able to save her? Where is Herakles, the man who is practically her father? 

All these questions and more will be answered in…Theta! (Cue suspenseful music)

Is It Classroom-Appropriate?

Yes, both books are, actually. The only problem with books like this in a classroom is that you have to read the whole series or else the ending is too abrupt. But the mythology tied in with the dystopian future tied in with the suspense: kids would love this. I think it could be used as a bridge for reading material outside the classroom. Maybe the premise could be used in writing responses? (They’re called bell-ringers and they’re a way to get kids to take an idea and write about it).

If this series was a standalone, I would use it to integrate mythology in the classroom. Alas, it is not. So though it might not be something that one could apply to the curriculum, it is definitely something I would give a fan of mythology to read. Or even a fan of dystopian lit. No qualms about recommending books for outside pleasure reading or having a copy of the series in my personal school library/bookshelf. Once I have a classroom. πŸ˜‰

Age Range:

I would say 12 and up. I could see sixth-graders enjoying this read. There’s no swearing, no intimate love scenes (so far)…it’s pretty clean. And I like that for younger readers. It also has the complexities of a book for older readers: the events surrounding the upcoming apocalypse and the political treason and espionage make for a rich reading experience. I’ll feel better once I can evaluate the series as a whole…so I’m waiting for a final assessment once I read Alpha. 

And the cool thing about Ford: she has written little novellas about each of the characters featured in the Omega/Theta world. If someone wants to read more about Adonis or the Silent Queen, the miniseries is free on Amazon. I picked up a copy of it so it can tide me over until Alpha comes out.


End Result:

I give Theta β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†. It was good but wasn’t as exciting as Omega. I think a lot of second books in a trilogy are like that: you’re in a suspended state, learning more about the plot but not getting enough to keep you sated. I enjoyed Theta but wanted more: I was impatient with the characters, frustrated with Adonis (why wasn’t he at Alessandra’s side? Though he had no idea what was going on, he was gone way too long in an intense situation), pissed at Lantos (whose side are you on, buddy??), and fed up with Cleon (are you the bad guy? If you are, why do I feel sympathy for you? Argh!)

I’m sure it will be better when I finally read Alpha. But I’m going to have to wait…again.

39 thoughts on “Theta (Omega #2) – Lizzie Ford (Review)

      1. Isn’t it frustrating? I sometimes have to take a break in between because my books are from the library and I try to go in due date order, so sometimes that means waiting on reading a sequel. It SUCKS!
        I can’t wait until school is out and I can read all day! Yay for Thanksgiving break!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great review for this book Stephanie. I only really skimmed this because I haven’t read the first book but it seems like you really enjoyed it and that’s always a plus with second books in series isn’t it? I’m definitely intrigued by all the Greek mythology in it. I know I’ve probably mentioned this before but I am a massive fan of Greek mythology.
    Is there a third book in this series being released soon? I guess if there is there’s going to be a wait for it and I know what you mean about hating to wait for the next books in series. I’m terrible with things like that! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good that you skimmed it because there’s all sorts of references to the first book.
      Yes, there’s a final book called Alpha, but it doesn’t come out until 2017. I’ll probably forget everything in the meantime!
      I think you would like this series if you like mythology. The difference is that the gods are completely different: Adonis is actually a warrior, not a god. Artemis is Alessandra’s guide (she’s the same), and Apollo made an appearance in Theta. Zeus is mentioned but we haven’t met him yet, and Herakles is a man who was damaged in war. So there’s similarities and differences, but I like that. I think Ford does a great job of emphasizing the Oracle role, since I always liked the idea of the Oracle of Delphi.
      Give it a try: it’s extremely cheap on Amazon. Of course, when you get a chance. Which, when you’re like me, is rarely anytime soon! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, nothing worse than spoilers is there? But wow that does seem quite a bit to wait for the third book considering you got through the first two pretty quickly (if I remember correctly you didn’t review the first book that long ago right?)
        I LOVE mythology, honestly I will pick up any book that has any kind of reference, not matter how small or obscure, to any kind of mythology. Despite the differences, or maybe because of them, this book still sounds really interesting, and it seems like a great take on the myths and the oracles as well so I will definitely add it to my to-read list. Hopefully I’ll be able to get around to it before the end of the year! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    2. I don’t know: we have so many books and so little time! It goes on sale a lot and you can grab it for basically nothing…also, the third one, since it won’t come out for awhile, is enough reason to wait. Aren’t we both in agreement that we like to wait until the series is finished (usually) before we start it? I could’ve sworn we’ve had that convo before!
      But I’m glad you’ll give it a shot: it shan’t disappoint!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We have had convos like that before but I completely agree that it is better to wait for the whole series to be released before picking it up. Unfortunately that seems to be something that I’m not always great at, and then I complain it’s taking forever for the last book to be released!
        I have high hopes now, but I’m sure I’ll love it as well.

        Liked by 1 person

    3. Yeah, I have the same feelings about them, too…I try to wait but can’t, then I feel like I’m going to go crazy. It happened with A Winner’s Curse: read book one, waited for book two…read book two, thinking it would all be resolved until the cliffhanger…then had to wait until book three! Wanted to claw my eyes out!
      Yeah…no control when it comes to bookish temptations. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

    4. If a book gets A TON of hype, then I can’t resist. But books I think I won’t like bc of the description I tend to put off. This is why I haven’t read Throne of Glass or any of the Cassandra Clare books…or even a single PC Cast book (besides the new one, and I only checked that out bc of the cover, lol). But I’m out of the loop on some until I see that there’s a die-hard following, and then I try to resist, but I always end up caving. It even happened with Twilight! That’s what got me started reading again was that series…it’s funny that I avoid some books, and then later realize I had no idea what I was missing. Are any of the ones I listed books that I should REALLY read? I mean, obviously besides ToG bc I know now I was stupid to avoid it, but I REALLY hated those covers…😝

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh if the blurb doesn’t appeal to me then I won’t read the book, and it could be one that has a lot of positive reviews and only a few negative but if I know I’m not going to enjoy it why would I pick it up you know?
        The ToG books are really worth picking up, they get so much better as they go along, and better than the covers would suggest if that’s why you didn’t before.
        I’m not a fan of the House of Night series by P.C. Cast so sorry can’t recommend that one but I’ve heard plenty of good things about Cassandra Clare’s books and what I’ve read I’ve really enjoyed! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I love that you’re noticing these now! They’re everywhere!
        I’ll check them out…I have to do a post! Soon! I have two papers to do by Thursday…I don’t purposely procrastinate but I forget they are due until they are….they sneak up on me!
        I can’t wait until this semester is over! Then I can do tags and Cover doubles and everything! I even have a book review I still need to post, and Jas wants to start Buddy reading Gilded Cage (and I don’t have time but I promised I would!) and NaNoWriMo is going to shit!
        I need a vacation! I can’t wait for Thanksgiving break! πŸ™

        Like

      2. You have such a crazy busy life!!!
        I had a book that I wrote due dates for assessments in… But then I never looked at it and forgot about them and then BAM! They are due the next day and I just wanted to cry!!

        I have like 5 reviews I need to post 😦
        I’m just procrastinating on blog posts and reviews by playing The Sims hahah!!
        I also really need to start a new course (OHS) but I don’t want to give up my free time lol.

        Ooooh let me know how Gilded Cage is, if you get a chance to read it!! Lol.
        When does Thanksgiving break start? When is Thanksgivings??
        I’m excited I have holidays over Christmas (I usually work because trucks are not going to run themselves 😐 lol)

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh extra long weekend!!! Woohoo!!!
        I wish we had something like that over here but got nothing till Christmas lol.
        I do get an RDO once a month now so that might be my blog updating/ catch up day lol.

        Occupation Health and Safety. I’m ‘compliance coordinator’ at work so I want to get a better understanding of the OH&S side because the truck side is mostly just reading things online and hoping I’ve got it right lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, that’s a cool job!
        I don’t have one right now…but once I get my degree, hopefully I’ll be that teacher you all tease me about! Maybe one day…Prof Plotkin?
        Hey, I was thinking we should be FB friends: we’re friends everywhere else! Do you use FB?

        Like

      3. Hahaha Prof Plotkin is awesome!!!! Sounds like you could be a teacher at Hogwarts πŸ™‚

        I do have FB. I have a book one that I follow authors on, share blog posts etc. (I didn’t want to flood family/friends feeds with my posts lol).
        I also have a personal account… I have added you from my personal account πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Greek Mythology with a twist, me like! Awesome review Teach! Nice in-depth information on the highs and lows. No sexy time is a bonus. It usually just turns me off when there’s some oiled up Adonis wandering around, trying to seduce the ladies (or men!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, no oiled up anyone. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Greek mythology with a twist, like you?? Are you taliking about you being a mythical being? Or just the twist part? Or both? Are you taking over Adonis’s oiled up role? πŸ€”

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Omg, you SLAY me. I can’t keep up with you! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Can you imagine the trouble we would cause as a dynamic duo in the real world? People would tremble before us. (Either in awe or because we were in a really cold place…but I’ll take both).
      But no oil…will have to leave at home. Maybe tar and feathers?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what my 28-year-old husband said to me last night! *self-five!*
        :’) :’) I think people would get sick of it rather quickly and just throw nuts at us or something. (maybe water when it’s cold and we’re wearing matching white t-shirts). Brilliant idea! And we’re so in luck because my dad happened to have worked in the tar industry before he retired. He can tell us all the tips and tricks we need to set up our own mobile tar lab! O_o

        Liked by 1 person

    3. You just made me snort laugh…definitely deserve a self-five for the cougar life. I like em real young…once they hit legal age, they’re all mine…hell, why even wait that long? Might as well be satisfied with a license, right? Sweet sixteen. (Ok, I can’t even joke about that bc it’s gross…I feel so unclean now!)
      Your dad worked in the tar industry? My mom worked in the feather industry! We will put them together and make us some chickens! (Jk…I don’t think there is a feather industry…wait, there must be or else where do they come from? Hmmm).
      Skip the oil: bring on the tar! Get some shingles while you’re at it! Bring your hunky younger husband…I’ll keep my eye on him and keep him safe…😈

      Like

  3. Great review! I love both mythology and dystopian novels, so this sounds right up my alley! Now I totally want to check out Omega, because this sounds awesome! As always, love the review and I love that I know what kind of book I’m getting into. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yeah, I def think you’ll love it. She’s such a good author and she’s written a LOT of books so far along with Julie Crane. (Or is it Julia)? I’ve been meaning to check out Crane’s book Arranged. The series is on NG but I’m avoiding that place right now, lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

