Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling (Review And #HPBlogateers)

Title: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
Author: J.K. Rowling 
Publisher: Scholastic Press, 1999 (ebook)
Genre: YA Fantasy, MG Fantasy 

This review can be found on my BlogTeacherofYA’s Tumblr, or my Goodreads page

This read was done with Megan @ bookslayerreads, Jodie @ forthenovellovers, and Tiff from Tiffthebooknerd! We together have formed…THE #HPBLOGATEERS!

We recently gained a new member who is our Spotlight for this book, Jordan @ TheBookishBakerBlog! She wasn’t a part of the group when we read book three, but heading forward, she will be joining us for future reads! Yay! Always nice to meet more Potter fans! We chose Jordan as she had actually just finished book three and we wanted to see how she would answer our questions! So stay tuned after the review…

My Review


I know…my covers are all over the place. I had flung copies of book one and two…and then I finally found epubs of the rest of the series…so my reading will start to match up from now on, lol. I honestly think the new editions of this series are gorgeous, but o can’t afford to buy HC versions of all the books right now…maybe someday! 

Now…obviously there will be spoilers from one and two…but seriously, what do you expect? C’mon! No one can hide from Harry Potter forever! So I’ll do the best I can to skirt around the big reveals…but it’ll be harder and harder from now on. 

(May I recommend watching the movies? At least then it’s not like you’ll never read the books! So much was left out, as I am now realizing!)

But I digress….

Harry always starts back at Privet drive with his non-wizard aunt, uncle, and cousin: the Dursley family. Harry is hanging in there, waiting to go back to Hogwart’s School and rejoin his friends. However, in an effort to keep Harry’s magical abilities a secret, the Dursley family have told the neighborhood that Harry goes to a school for criminal boys. Harry must agree to this lie when his Uncle’s sister Marge comes for a visit. As the family dotes on the bad seed Dudley, they treat Harry like a delinquent, and Marge says some, well, not nice things about Harry’s family. 

Though Harry isn’t supposed to do magic in front of “muggles,” especially as an underage wizard, he loses his temper and Aunt Marge…well, you can see what happens to mean ol’ Aunt Marge:


The Weasley family comes to the rescue and Harry is able to stay until returning to school. However, there is also a dangerous criminal on the loose from Azkaban, the wizard prison, and they feel Harry should know about him. Especially since the wizard was a Voldemort supporter and was the one responsible for getting his parents killed. They think this wizard may try to kill Harry to take revenge for his former master. 

The wizard criminal’s name is Sirius Black.


Posters are everywhere and people are scared. Dementors, the guardians of Azkaban prison, have been “let loose” to search for the dangerous wizard. Though they can catch Sirius, they are also a huge danger to Harry, and whenever they get close, he faints and is depleted of all the happiness inside him.


The new Defense Against The Dark Arts teacher, Professor Lupin, comes to Harry’s rescue a number of times, and he teaches Harry how to ward off the Dementors if they come too close. Harry plays Quidditch, goes to class, and tries to go on the field trip to Hogsmeade that only third years can attend…but with Sirius Black on the loose, everyone is watching out for Harry’s safety.

If his new Divination teacher would stop predicting his death…maybe Harry could forget his troubles for a semester. 


But despite trying to have a normal year and avoid the Dementors, it seems break-ins have been noticed…and there are several close calls…can’t Harry just have a safe year at Hogwart’s for once? 

Oh…no. That would be kinda boring, wouldn’t it? 

Can Harry steer clear of Black? Can he finally win Quidditch? Will he have his soul sucked out by Dementors? What will happen to Harry this year? (Well, he can’t die because there are four more books, but you get my drift)…

BEWARE OF SIRIUS BLACK, HARRY POTTER!!


Cause he doesn’t look too happy to me…

Is It Classroom-Appropriate?

Yes, but as I said with book two, there’s really no reason to use the later books in lesson plans. Book two, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, was close enough to the first book in explaining all the nuances and wizarding world atmosphere that it could be used effectively still. But from this book forward, all the rest of the Harry Potter books should be encouraged for outside reading.  It would just be too confusing for those who haven’t read the rest of the series.

This is not to say that the books after one and two don’t have value…they do. I would encourage a classroom library with the whole series so that if or when you use Harry Potter in a lesson plan, the students could continue the series as outside reading. Once they are hooked, it’s good to encourage them to continue by allowing them access to the series. Once you find s book that a student can get into, supply the rest of the books to promote outside literacy. This will help bridge the gap between required reading and reading for fun.

Because of its lack of real use in a lesson plan, I would give Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban ★★★☆☆ for classroom use. 


It’s possible, but why when you can just stick with book one or two and have better student understanding?

Age Range

Similar to the other books so far, Prisoner of Azkaban has a score of 880L and is recommended for ages 9-17.  There is nothing inappropriate for younger readers and this is why most, if not all, the series is also considered middle grade (MG) reading material. The books do get longer as they go up in the series, which is a good way to ensure Reading stamina. For some reason book two is scored higher than book three, but it’s a minimal difference; this just means that if they had no problems getting through book two, they’ll definitely have no problem getting through book three. As Harry ages, so should the ages of the readers. Harry is 12 in this book, so I would recommend 12 and above, though younger ambitious readers will have no problem with any Harry Potter books thus far.

**Now, before the End Result, I would like to introduce to you this book’s Spotlight reader: our newest recruit to the #HPBlogateers, Jordan from TheBookishBakerBlog!!!**


We asked Jordan a question each, and she answered each one! So let’s showcase our Spotlight reader, Jordan!!

  • ME: If you could be any Animagus (an Animagus is a person who can change into an animal that they choose, but only one), what would you choose?

“If I could be an Animagi, I think I would want to be a falcon, but according to Pottermore (the website of all thing HP), your Animagi usually is closely related or the same thing as your Patronus and if that’s the case then mine would be a Wolf.”

  • TIFFANY: If you could visit any shop in Hogsmeade, which would it be? 

“The shop I’d visit in Hogsmeade is a classic: The Three Boomsticks.” *

*The Three Broomsticks is a hangout for anyone and serves excellent Butterbeer.

  • JODIE: Who is your favorite Maurader (the makers of a secret map that shows where everyone is at any time in and around Hogwarts) and why? 

“My favorite Marauder is absolutely Remus Lupin. When I fist read the books I would have said Sirius, but not so much anymore. Lupin is genuinely a good person and he is so kind, he knows what it’s like to struggle, and he’ll do anything to protect those he loves.”

  • BONUS QUESTION: If you had a time turner, would you use it for school? 

“If I had a time turner I wouldn’t use it for school. I don’t think I would use it at all unless it was an emergency. I wouldn’t want to risk messing up any timelines.”

Thank you to Jordan, our newest recruit and second Spotlight reader…who will hopefully continue our journey with book four, Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire! Who will be next? Might it be…yours truly? 🙀

End Result:

Do you really think I can give a Harry Potter book less than five stars? We all (and I’m speaking to the readers of the series) may have our “favorite” book in the series, but as a whole, the series never wavers from quality entertainment. The writing is done well, the characters fleshed out, and the twists always a surprise. If I hadn’t seen the movies or read this book before, I would have been shocked at the turnout. This book also inspires one of the classic Harry Potter pieces of memorabilia: the Time Turner. So you can’t hate on Azkaban, which means simply that this book is a definite ★★★★★ read. 

And really, are you surprised? 


Well, thanks for joining us on this edition of “TeacherofYA’s Adventures in Potterland!” Yay! 

More stuff coming soon, so stay tuned. I leave you with this! 


I love it when she punches Malfoy…then says…


Love it. Need to watch the movies once I’m done reading the series…maybe a Potterthon? 🤔

64 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling (Review And #HPBlogateers)

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling | forthenovellovers

  2. Oh ya Hermione punching Draco da best scene EVER! Prisoner of Azkaban is one of my favorite HP books, but #4 is definitely my TOP favorite. Yeah do a Potterthon! (Though the movies aren’t QUITE as good as the books, ya know?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I know! Now that I have gotten to book five and I am reading them straight, the movies pale in comparison! But I love Goblet of Fire and I got to pick my Spotlight….so I’m sure you’ll see someone answering some questions about the book soon!
      I’m thinking after the reread, I’ll just watch the movies back to back to back! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll never forget that moment! When I saw it in the movie, I think my jaw dropped!
      Gotta give Hermoine credit for giving him a whooping!
      Did it happen in the book? I can’t remember now…it’s been a bit and now I’m on book five…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review for this book Stephanie, and oh I am so glad you’re loving this series as well. It’s Harry Potter so you can’t really escape it! 😀
    Prisoner of Azkaban is my friends favourite book, and to be honest it’s probably my second favourite book of the series (Goblet of Fire being the first so I can’t wait to see your review for that one) so I’m really glad to see that five star rating for this one! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, that’s going to be my favorite review to write…the fifth, sixth, and seventh will be so new to me that i might end up with a new fave, but I doubt it bc I love the Triwizard Tournament!
      I can’t wait for my Spotlight turn!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hope you like my blog! :*

    Like

    1. I will definitely go check it out! I’m not much for BookTube but I’m always a supporter of fellow bloggers and fellow book lovers!
      Thanks for following! I look forward to reading your blog, too!

      Like

  5. I was SOOO hoping for five Rainbow Brights on this one and was so excited to see them, because this is one of the best books in the series in my opinion! I absolutely love it! Also your friend Jordan’s dog is soooo cute!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sigh.. so you know how I have serious commitment issues and am a total mood reader.. well this is one of the series I have embarrassingly not finished 😦 It doesn’t help that my son and I are sort of reading it together and he sporadically loses interest in fiction. In time.. in time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, It happened to me, too! But my reason for stopping was more drug-related the first time. I’m so happy I’m getting back into it bc it’s totally addicting. You’re always welcome to join our group!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award and Liebster Award – Darque Dreamer Reads

  8. This is my favorite of the series. I am not sure why, it just really draws me in. I think it may be because it is the moment that the series feels more suspenseful? I am not sure! I am so glad you are enjoying these books and it amazes me how this series just doesn’t go away. I love it! I had a lot of my sixth grade students get hooked this year and it was so cool watching them become HP fans. Great post! Happy reading and blogging!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m so glad your sixth graders appreciate the wonderful and colorful world of Harry Potter!
      I think the fourth book is my favorite because of the real danger, but the danger started with this book and “the escape of Sirius Black.” Before, Harry was just going about his days at school and stumbling upon mysteries. In this book, we first see the downside to Harry’s fame and notoriety: real-life peril. And book four actually leads to our first death!
      I’m so glad to find another educator out there who shares the series with her students…I’m a sub so unfortunately I’m not with a class long enough yet to make any real magic happen.
      But I always have my lesson plans at the ready!
      Welcome and so glad to meet you! ☺️☺️☺️

      Like

  9. Hey I’m stopping by for the first time. I love that you included a readers opinion of this book. I do interviews with authors and reviews but it never dawned on me to interview a reader. theglobaldig.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. OMG seeing this review just makes me want to reread the whole Harry Potter series again. 😭 But I completely agree – this was such a great addition to the series and I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. (My personal favorite is book six, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you’re able to read it.) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! See, I stopped my initial read at book five. Lots of stuff going on back then. Now I’m able to discuss the books without just using the movies as backing! 😂🤣
      Maybe when I get to six I’ll love it more than four? I don’t know yet!
      Thanks and I’m glad you liked it! ☺️☺️☺️

      Like

  11. First I just want to say, YES to the Hermione punching Malfoy GIF. That scene is and will always be one of my favorites. Second, I just love your HP reviews Stephanie! You’re making me wish I could reread the books. Maybe I’ll just settle for marathoning the movies sometime soon instead lol. And I love how you use all of those GIFs and images in your review. Lovely review as always!! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww, thank you! You’re making me blush! ☺️☺️☺️
      It’s fun to write them, really. It’s so enjoyable! And when people like them, it just makes me over the moon happy.
      I want to marathon the movies so much…hopefully once the read is done! 🤞

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I do love the series but I think PoA is quite different from the rest of the books (and movies, too). Not sure what it is, but it does have a different vibe to it.
    I get why it wouldn’t be that useful in the classroom but at least it was still an enjoyable read 🙂 Glad to see Jordan liked it so much!
    Hope you guys continue to have fun in your group reading ^^ That’s the most important thing, I think!
    Looking forward to your next review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m so glad you guys are still going!!
    Wish I had the time to stick it out☹️☹️ loved reading HP with you guys.
    Great review. So hard to review these books without any spoilers there’s so much that happens!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, you’ve got “smaller” problems to deal with 😂🤣.
      It’s ok: Jodie keeps trying to take the reins and lead us when it is obvious that she isn’t a leader. I told her I’ve been done with book four for awhile. We haven’t even heard from Megan in forever so 🤷‍♀️.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha glad to hear it hasn’t changed.
        I’m hoping to glam my bookstagram up soon. Going to go check out the reject shop for some props and stuff then I’m actually going to take time to take some photos and do a posting schedule.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

